To One Who Made me a Mama

A letter to my Son: I can’t believe you’re 5

Growing up I wasn’t sure I even wanted to be a mom. I am the youngest of 4 and you have 7 cousins that I took care of throughout my life. Taking care of kids is a lot of work, especially babies. I remember thinking… “I don’t need to have kids, I can borrow one if I want” haha! Then I met your daddy and I knew I wanted a family one day.

img_0169

 Being pregnant with you was pretty easy, I never got sick or felt bad and I didn’t get any of those crazy wives tale symptoms that everyone talks about. I may have eaten too much chocolate (thanks to being a teacher on Valentine’s Day) and enjoyed enough grilled cheese to feed an army…but being pregnant was fun. Feeling you in my belly was the greatest thing, my students loved when you would move around and they could see you. Then, one Monday, I went to school like any other day…little did I know you were getting ready to join the world.

colton born
I remember like it was yesterday, the day you entered this world: Tuesday April 17th 2012 at 11:05am you made me a mama. It took a lot less time than I thought it would; all of a sudden I was a mama.  I never knew I could love something so small so much. The doctor placed you on my chest and at 3 weeks early and weighing it at a whopping 5 lbs 9 oz you looked like a wrinkly old man (but, the cutest one ever!).

colton 2

I was so blessed to be able to work from home for the first year. I got to watch every milestone, dry every tear and embrace every cuddle. When you started crawling and being more active and I knew it was time for a change. I went back to teaching in 2013 and you started daycare. I missed you like crazy but you loved going to school, you definitely have your mama’s social personality and you have blossomed into such a smart little boy. I hope that you never lose your curiosity and love for working on things; whether it’s puzzles or Legos, if it has to do with building you love it!

In what seems like the blink of an eye, now you are 5. Starting Kindergarten in the fall, excelling at sports and being stubborn like your Daddy. Over the last 5 years I have watched you grow into a God loving, empathetic, caring and fun little boy. Your concern for others amazes me,  always willing to help your friends and teachers. You love to sing and dance (you were the cutest dancing baby) and, anytime a song comes on that you know you’re always singing along. You are my snuggling movie watcher, daddy’s favorite hunting buddy and best big brother to your baby sister. I pray you do big things and always know that you are loved!

I love you more, Mommy

3 thoughts on “To One Who Made me a Mama

Leave a Reply

